New Year New Books

Standard

The new year has arrived and 2016 is going to be a great year for books.  I’m getting my shelves ready for some new books that will be wonderful to use in the classroom.  Here’s a sample of some new stories that are headed to a library near you.  Get ready to check them out!

Very first on my list is We will Not Be Silent -The White Rose Student NotBeSilentResistant Movement that Defied Hitler. Its by one of my favorite authors – Russell Freedman and tells about the young members of the White Rose resistance who fought against Hitler with words.  Hiding in a cellar,they cranked out thousands of mimeographed leaflets declaring to Hitler “We are your bad conscience.”  The book includes historical photographs that illustrate the powerful true story.  This book will be released by Clarion in May so I have a little while to wait… but I know it will be worth it!

The Secret Subway is next on my list.  It tells the story of Alfred Beach and Subwayhis creation of a fan driven underground subway that was built in 1870. I can’t wait to see the wonderful illustrations in this picture book.  I plan to use it to introduce discussions about inventions and I know it will capture the imagination of my students.  Written by Shana Corey, this fun picture book will be out in March.  I can’t wait!

I only have to wait until February for Echo Echo by Marilyn Singer. I’m 9780803739925excited about this book because it combines poetry with Greek Myths. Singer used a new type of poem that is called a reverso where she presents a portrait and then recasts it backward, line by line, in a companion poem.  I think this will be a great way to teach both poetry and Greek Mythology.  I’ll be first in line at the library for this one!

Leave a Reply

